ELECTION 2018: Businessman files for magistrate

Published 8:39 am Tuesday, January 30, 2018

A local business owner has filed to run as a magistrate in Boyle County.

Jason Cullen, owner of The Hub Coffee Shop and Cafe, has filed to run against Jack Hendricks, longtime magistrate.

“I thought it would be good to give the people of the fourth district a different voice,” Cullen said on Monday.

Email newsletter signup

Recent filings in the Boyle County Clerk’s Office include:

• Kevin Caudill, non-partisan, Danville City Commissioner, P.O. Box 282, Danville;

• Jason Cullen, Republican, Magistrate District 4, 949 Pecos Circle, Danville; and

• Mike Perros, incumbent, non-partisan, Danville Mayor, P.O. Box 249, Danville.

Perros is completing his first tenure as mayor in Danville. He was elected to the position in 2014.

Caudill was appointed commissioner in 2002, following the passing of his mother, Commissioner Nancy Caudill. He has served since.

Other filings include:

• Boyle County Attorney: Incumbent Lynne Pierce Dean, Democrat, and Christopher K. Herron, Republican.

• Boyle County Clerk: Trille L. Bottom, Democrat.

• Boyle County Constable: District 1, Don “Buck” Sawyer, Democrat, incumbent; District 2, Dennis Curtsinger, Democrat, James Henson, Democrat; District 3, James A. Murphy, Democrat, incumbent; District 5, Tim Dexter, incumbent, Republican;

• Boyle County Coroner: Don Hamner, Republican, incumbent.

• Boyle County Jailer: Dewayne Taylor, Democrat, Brian Wofford, Democrat, Bobby J. Potts, Democrat, Rita Douglas, Republican, LeeRoy Hardin, Republican

• Boyle County judge-executive: Gary Chidester, Democrat; Lynn Harmon, Republican; David Alan Reeves, Democrat; Howard Hunt III, Republican.

• Boyle County Magistrate, District 1, Richard “Dickie” Mayes, Democrat, incumbent, Steve Devine, Independent, Tom Ellis, Republican; District 2, Donnie Coffman, Democrat, incumbent, Carl Gwinn, Republican; District 3, Phillip R. Sammons, Democrat, incumbent; District 4, Jack Hendricks, Democrat, incumbent; District 5, Jamey Gay, Democrat, Stephen E. Cline, Republican; District 6, John B. Caywood, Democrat, incumbent.

• Boyle County Property Valuation Administrator: Brian Darnell, Republican, Lacresha “My” Gibson, Democrat.

• Boyle County Sheriff: Christopher Derek Robbins, Democrat, in icumbent.

• Circuit Court Clerk: Cortney Shewmaker, Democrat, incumbent.

• Danville City Commissioner: Rick Serres, incumbent, Denise Terry, incumbent. (Non-partisan)

• Commonwealth’s Attorney covering Boyle and Mercer counties: Richard “Richie” Bottoms, incumbent, Democrat.

• District Judge covering Boyle and Mercer counties: Jeff L. Dotson, incumbent, nonpartisan

• State Representative for the 54th District: Daniel B. Elliott, incumbent, Republican (covering Boyle and Casey counties)

• Judge of the Court of Appeals 5th District, first division: Pamela R. Goodwine, Rob Johnson (nonpartisan, covering Anderson, Bourbon, Boyle, Clark, Fayette, Franklin, Jessamine, Madison, Mercer, Scott and Woodford counties)

• United States Representative for the 2nd District: S. Brett Guthrie, incumbent Republican, Brian Pedigo, Democrat, Rane Eir Olivia Sessions, Democrat, Grant Short, Democrat, (covering Barren, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Daviess, Edmonson, Grayson, Green, Hancock, Hardin, Hart, Larue, Meade, Nelson, part of Spencer, Warren, Washington (part), Boyle, Butler, Garrard, part of Jessamine,Mercer)


The deadline to file for primary election is 4 p.m. today (Tuesday, Jan. 30). The Junction City and Perryville mayoral and city council races will be open until August; those will be voted on in November, during the general election.