Local students named as semifinalists for National Merit Scholarships

Published 9:02 am Thursday, September 15, 2016



Press release
EVANSTON, ILLIONOIS — Officials of National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) have announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition.
Local students who have been named semifinalists include —
Boyle County High School: Anna E. Duncan, Katherine E. Leahey, Wesley Wei and Kenneth T. Whitsell
Danville High School: Daniel J. McAlister and Abigail G. Anderson
Garrard County High School: John C. Carver
Lincoln County High School: Auburn E. Mattingly
Mercer County High School: Nicholas S. McClain.

Email newsletter signup