Business briefs

Published 8:09 am Wednesday, March 15, 2017

PBK Bank’s Joye Hunt selected to serve on Friends of Traditional Banking Executive Committee

STANFORD — Joye Hunt, who serves as a Senior Vice-President & Chief Financial Officer of PBK Bank, has been named to the Executive Committee of Friends of Traditional Banking. The national organization is an informal network of individuals who recognize the prominent and critical role of traditional banking in local communities and are committed to defending it from misguided laws and over-regulation.  Joye has served on the 50 State Advisory Board, now known as the Nationwide Banker Board for the past several years

Email newsletter signup

Joye has served PBK Bank in her current role since 2004, and is active in a wide variety of civic and educational organizations. She has served as treasurer of the Stanford Rotary Club since 2005 and serves as the chair for the Club’s Scholarship Committee, a position she has held for the past 10 years. 

She and her husband, Joe Tamme, reside in Boyle County where they farm and raise cows. Members of St. Rose Catholic Church, they have one son, Ben Hunt, who is a student at the University of Kentucky. 

“I am very honored to be asked to serve in this capacity to help preserve traditional community banking for ourselves, locally and nationally,” said Hunt. She also invites everyone to join and support Friends of Traditional Banking at to support community banks.

Wheeler to serve a second term on the National Hospice and Palliative Care Regulatory Committee

Janelle Wheeler, Executive Director of Heritage Hospice, Inc., has been named to serve a second term as a member of the National Hospice and Palliative Care Regulatory Committee. This committee closely monitors federal activity around hospice and palliative care issues and analyzes and interprets regulations put Into effect by Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), Office of Inspector General (01G), Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MEDPAC), the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and other federal agencies.

The committee works to predict the impact of these regulations, inform the hospice community of implementation requirements, and provide the education necessary for hospice providers to achieve and maintain compliance with all relevant regulations.

Wheeler attended a meeting of the committee in New Orleans earlier this year. “It is an honor to serve with some of the country’s leading hospice professionals in this capacity. Being selected to serve a second term is privilege and an opportunity to impact end of life care in a positive way.”

Heritage Hospice, Inc. is a nonprofit health care organization providing end of life care to patients and their families in Boyle, Garrard, Lincoln, and Mercers counties in Kentucky. For more information about hospice care, call (859) 236-2425.

Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center nurse recognized for extraordinary service

Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center (EMRMC) is pleased to recognize and honor one of its nurses for her extraordinary patient care. Leah Holloway, R.N., a nurse in the Critical Care Unit, was one of many nurses nominated for the DAISY Award. A resident of Boyle County, Leah has been caring for patients at EMRMC for nearly four years. 

She was nominated by a patient’s family member who said, “Leah was my husband’s nurse after he suffered a massive heart attack and was unconscious in the Critical Care Unit.  Leah not only took medical care of my husband, but also met the emotional needs for me and my children. She showed such compassion to all of us during a very devastating time. Each question was answered and her fight to get us answers for the possible outcome was relentless. In the four days we were there, she became part of us as we went through the decisions to let go. I will forever be grateful for her decision to trade shifts, so she could see us through our final day with my husband. My family will never forget her and will always appreciate her kindness and compassion for us.”

Ephraim McDowell is proud to recognize nurses with the DAISY Award, a national program honoring the compassionate care and clinical excellence that nurses bring to their patients every day. Nomination forms for the DAISY Award are available at various locations throughout EMRMC and Ephraim McDowell Fort Logan Hospital.

Smith joins Danville Pediatrics
Dr. Miranda Smith has joined Danville Pediatrics and is accepting new patients. The practice is located at 303 South Fourth St., (859)  236-1080. Dr. Smith’s professional interests include newborn care, childhood obesity and adolescent medicine.
Dr. Smith, of Sandy Hook, received her bachelor of science from Morehead State University, graduating summa cum laude. She completed medical school and pediatric residency training at the University of Kentucky. She is board certified in general pediatrics and a Fellow of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Whalen joins Denyo Manufacturing

Denyo Manufacturing Corporation in Danville,  has announced the addition of Laura Whalen as administrative manager as of April 1, 2017. Ms. Whalen will replace current administrative manager, Steve Rinehart. After a transition of duties to Whalen, Rinehart will remain with Denyo focusing on human resources and compensation projects until retiring at the end of 2017.

For the past 13 years, Ms. Whalen has been the human resources director at Five Star Senior Living in Lexington. From 1988 until 2003, she filled a number of financial and human resources roles with AdMart International in Danville.

Whalen is a native of Harrodsburg and a graduate of Centre College.

Rinehart will leave Denyo Manufacturing after more than 11 years as administrative manager. Before joining the Denyo organization, he completed 25 years with R R Donnelley (now LSC Communications) in a variety of human resources and training roles. He was a member of the initial startup team for the RRD facility in Danville when it opened in 1985.