Scrapbook, March 22

Published 8:59 am Wednesday, March 22, 2017

Do Not Litter
These fifth grade Beta Club students at Paint Lick Elementary School are on a mission to help clean up their community and Garrard County by encouraging people to not litter. Each student wrote a letter to Garrard County Judge Executive John Wilson asking if he could help them get a couple of Do Not Litter signs on Highway 52. Mr. Wilson agreed to help.

FCCLA news

On January 27, members of the Boyle County Chapter of Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America went to Western Hills High School to compete in STAR Events. STAR Events stands for Students Taking Action with Recognition and allows students to showcase their skills in Family and Consumer Sciences. Many of these students placed at the top of their competition event, and will be progressing to the state level for competition.

Front row, from left, Allison Goble, Ava Cullen and Ellie McClellan.
Second row, Leah Stewart, Jaclyn Little, Chandler Lane, Katelyn Osborne, Makayla Richter and William Bugg. Back row, Kaitlyn Sellers, Maggie Moser, Channing Whitehouse, Kaylee Cloud, Haleigh Matherly and Rebekah Hagen.

Ellie McClellan and Makayla Richter came in second place in applied math; Maggie Moser, Caitlyn Sellers, and Leah Stewart placed first in chapter in review display, junior.; Hana Blank and Haleigh Matherly placed first in chapter in review display, senior; Will Bugg placed second in entrepreneurship, junior; Jaclyn Little placed third in career investigation, senior; Rebekah Hagen placed third in recycle and redesign; Chandler Lane placed third in job interview, senior; Kaylee Cloud and Channing Whitehouse placed second in interior design, senior; Katelyn Osbourne, Ava Cullen, and Allison Goble placed first in life event planning, senior. Congratulations to all of the participants!

Email newsletter signup

FCCLA spring meeting

On Friday, March 10, the Boyle County Chapter of Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) attended the Region 15 FCCLA Spring Meeting which was held at Bedford Acres Baptist Church in Paris.

During this meeting the region elected two Boyle County students as regional officers for the 2017-2018 term. Jaclyn Little was elected president and Ava Cullen was elected vice president of Peer Education.

Morning Pointe project helps seniors

Morning Pointe of Danville, Caretenders Home Health and local schools are putting their hearts together for a partnership to benefit seniors in need.

Through the Love A Senior project, students and parents at area schools are collecting hygiene items for less fortunate individuals in Boyle and Mercer counties. The items are picked up and delivered by Morning Pointe residents, associates and volunteers and delivered to the Danville Boyle Senior Citizen Center and Caretenders Home Health patients.

But these acts of kindness are nothing new for the senior living and memory care residents, who inspired a yearlong campaign called “Make Your Mark.” Morning Pointe, along with partners and nonprofits, come together to help parent company Morning Pointe Senior Living reach its goal of 20,000 hours of volunteerism in 2017.

From left, Nelda Harlow, Julie Popplewell, community relations director at Morning Pointe of Danville, Heather Hall, LPN, patient care liaison at Caregivers Home Health, and Carol Jeffries and Jimmy Russell, representatives with Danville Boyle Senior Citizen Center, came together for the Love A Senior project to benefit local Boyle County and Mercer County seniors in need.

DAR meeting

At the Daughters of the American Revolution March 10 meeting, the speaker was Sue Ballard, author of “My Blessed, Wretched Life: Rebecca Boone’s Story.” Pictured, from left is Regent Nancy Ketelhohn, author Sue Ballard, and newest Daughter, Carla Bates.

Dance team competes

These kids are the Synergy Allstarz competition teams from Danville Dance Company. They competed in the  Kids Artistic Revue National Dance Competition in Louisville on March 3 and 4. We want to congratulate them on their many awards.

The three age divisions are the tiny team, mini team and the youth team. The following are the awards won by each. 

• Tiny — First place

• Mini-Elite — Top first for hip hop and first for pom; Judges’ Choice for pom; and eighth top overall of any Primary 8 and Under Routine for hip hop

• Youth — Top first for hip hop and pom; second top overall of any Primary 9-11 routine for hip hop

Top row left to right: Lily Blanton, Alexa Howard, Jesse Dawson, Mia Stivers, Isabella Sepahban, Alex King, Cameron White.
Next row, just below the top row, going left to right: Kathryn Dawson, Aidan Crowe, Jaylee Carlton, Jaina Burkett
Third row from the top, left to right: Mia Walker, Shalyn Washington, Emery Larson, Harmony Hargis, Phoebe Smith, Emmy Bivins.
Next row on the floor, left to right: Ella Lewis, Ashley Lewis, Jemima Dawson, Avery Dunn, Peyton Glasscock, Clare Coleman, Carlee Jenkins, Clara Griffith.
Last group on the floo, left to right: Savannah Maggard, Desi Shuman, Ember Genco, Nora Grace Coleman, Lily Bratcher.