Education briefs, April 25

Published 8:40 am Tuesday, April 25, 2017

Local corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners announced

EVANSTON, ILLINOIS — National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) released the names of the first group of winners in the 62nd annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

More than 1,000 distinguished high school seniors have won corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship awards financed by about 200 corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations.

Email newsletter signup

Scholars were selected from students who advanced to the Finalist level in the National Merit Scholarship competition and met criteria of their scholarship sponsors. Corporate sponsors provide National Merit Scholarships for Finalists who are children of their employees, who are residents of communities the company serves, or who plan to pursue college majors or careers the sponsor wishes to encourage.

Most of these awards are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study and provide annual stipends that range from $500 to $10,000 per year. Some provide a single payment between $2,500 and $5,000. Recipients can use their awards at any regionally accredited

U.S. college or university of their choice.

Area winners include:

• Wesley Wei, of Danville, National Merit Corning Incorporated Scholarship. Probable career field is biochemistry

• Auburn E. Mattingly, of Hustonville, National Merit James E. Casey Scholarship for children of United Parcel Service employees supported by the UPS Foundation, in honor of the founder is engineering.

Toliver Elementary School honor roll for the third-nine weeks

Fourth Grade

All A’s — Isabella Aranda, Hensley Arnold, Mackenzie Boggess, 

Alyssa Carnahan, Taylor Caudill, Samantha Daniel, McClain Denny, Sam Finke, Alicia Gabbard, Jeleena Hawkins, Londyn Jackson, Andrew Lamb, Paul McClure, Gavinn Rodriguez, Jonah Singleton, Ava Smith, Konoka Sugimoto, Hadley Terrell, Lilla Walter, Shalyn Washington, Kendall Williams, Alan Wireman, and Sara Young

A’s and B’s — Braidin Baughman, Shawn Blain, Janiya Campbell, Zyaire Duggan, Riley Floyd, Tierney Glackin, Haley Grimsley, Danielle Holloway, Gus Lane, Ally Mayes, Paisley Metz, Presely Metz, Kaylee Pennington, Ronnie Russell, Jae’dyn Turpin, and Abygail Ulmer, 

Fifth Grade

All A’s — Carter Dilbeck, Ava Drake, Jack Erwin, Matthew Gover, Grace Haines, Katy Rose McSweyn, Evan Sanders, Ethan Streciwilk, and Tori Whisenant

A’s and B’s — Adrianna Beasley, Kendall Carver, Ron Chenault, Roman Cooper, Layla Emerson, Kaden Emmons, 

Traeden Gaskin, Madison Glaze, Aidan Gosser, 

Alexander Hurt, Camron Jackson, John Kelso, Jesslyn Layton, Ollie Longenecker, Kaleigh McClain, Brittney Miller, 

Piper Motyka, Isabella Murray, Grayson Nagorka, Abby Pingleton, Preslee Reyna, Savannah Rose, Jayden Sims, Nicholas Sims, James Swain, Carsen Wastell, and Amarie Wright