Business briefs, June 14

Published 8:08 am Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Gov. Bevin makes appointments to School Curriculum, Assessment and Accountability Council

FRANKFORT – Gov. Matt Bevin has made the following local appointments to the School Curriculum, Assessment and Accountability Council:

• Steven Randall Evans, Danville, represents school district assessment coordinators. He is a school assessment coordinator for the Madison County Schools. Evans shall serve for a term expiring June 30, 2021;

Email newsletter signup

• Jennifer Putnam, Lancaster, represents science, math, and technology teachers. She is a teacher in the Garrard County School System. Putnam shall serve for a term expiring June 30, 2019.

Northpoint employee award, promotion 

Lee May of Lebanon, was selected as Employee of the Month for May 2017 at Northpoint Training Center. May began her employment at NTC in June 2016 as a correctional officer. May was selected as Employee of the Month based on her outstanding job performance. She received a letter of commendation and was assigned a reserved parking space for the month.

Henry Brewer of Lancaster, was promoted to classification and treatment officer on June 1. Brewer began his employment at Northpoint Training Center as a correctional officer in July 2015.

Ephraim McDowell Fort Logan Hospital nurse recognized for extraordinary service

Ephraim McDowell Fort Logan Hospital (EMFLH) is pleased to recognize and honor one of its nurses for her extraordinary patient care. Pam Smith, BSN, RN, a nurse in the Emergency Department at EMFLH, was one of many nurses nominated for the DAISY Award. A resident of Lincoln County, Pam has been caring for patients at EMFLH for 26 years. 

She was nominated by several co-workers, visitors and patients. One visitor said, “Mrs. Smith is always very efficient, polite, and professional when I have an interaction with her at the hospital. Excellent job!”

Ephraim McDowell is proud to recognize nurses with the DAISY Award, a national program that honors the compassionate care and clinical excellence that nurses bring to their patients every day.  Nomination forms for the DAISY Award are available at various locations throughout EMFLH and Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center.