Education briefs, June 20

Published 8:34 am Tuesday, June 20, 2017

College-sponsored Merit Scholarship winners announced

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) have announced more than 3,200 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by U.S. colleges and universities. Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among the finalists in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution.

These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship. An additional group of scholars will be announced in July, bringing the total number of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship recipients in the 2017 competition to approximately 4,000.

Email newsletter signup

This year, 182 higher education institutions are underwriting Merit Scholarship awards through the National Merit Scholarship Program. Sponsor colleges and universities include 103 private and 79 public institutions located in 44 states and the District of Columbia.

Local winners are: 

• Anna E. Duncan, Boyle County High School; National Merit Wooford College Scholarship, probable career field is medicine.

• Nicholas S. McClain, Mercer County High School, National Merit University of Louisville Scholarship, probable career field is engineering.

Stanfield wins Kirkland Memorial Scholarship

The 2017 recipient of the Keisha Tillman Kirkland Memorial Scholarship is Ellison Stanfield. He plans to pursue a degree in business administration at Indiana University Southeast. The award was presented to Stanfield at the Danville High School graduation ceremony on May 25.

WKU dean’s and president’s lists

The following Western Kentucky University students from this area were named to the president’s and dean’s lists for the spring 2017 semester. 

President’s list

Danville — Kylie D. Cooper, Taylor C. Stewart, Bethany M. Bottoms, Ellery C. Denny, Kaylee W. Johnson, Hayden E. Justice, Madison P. Cooper, Allison D. Hall, Hannah R. Robertson, Hannah D. Sims and Miranda P. Wray.

Harrodsburg — Ruth A. Hughes and Hunter S. Sims.

Crab Orchard — Katherine E. Linville.

Lancaster — Evan C. Smith, Allyson E. Taylor, Sarah E. Price, Haley T. O’Kane, Haley A. Bruckner and Austin K. Young.

Parksville — Ashley N. Teater.

Perryville — Mallory R. Ritter.

Stanford — Macy E. Kaiser.

Waynesburg — Abigail M. Vickers.

Liberty — Emma J. Moore.

Dean’s list

Danville — Cathryn L. Ellis, Jeffrey C. Ray, Daisy E. Brosi, Calli J. Young, Vance N. True, Jory S. Dickison, Joe H. Webb, Andrea N. Ruzic, Katherine G. Block, Mary Alice Fyfe and Madeline C. Mullins.

Burgin — Randi E. Burke and Sarah K. Auvil.

Harrodsburg — Hannah B. Turner, Aalayah A. Purnell and Colton J. Mcglone.

Crab Orchard — Tate H. Harris.

Lancaster — Corey A. Steber, Kelley E. Eads, Ethan E. Smith and Megan C. Ward.

Salvisa — Victoria N. Carter.

Stanford — Timothy D. Godbey, Emma B. Lawson, Dustin G. Herring and Tanner B. Leigh.

Waynesburg — Shelby A. Slone.

Liberty — Allison R. Thompson, Skyler K. Wright and Taylor W. Leigh.

Lyons receives STAR Scholarship

Photo submitted
Elizabeth Lyons, left, received an extra $500 scholarship from Chapter I presented by Kathy Simpson, Chapter I PEO president.

Elizabeth Lyons, a 2017 Boyle County graduate, has been selected to receive a STAR Scholarship from the Philanthropic Educational Organization (PEO).

Linda Barnard, STAR Scholarship Chair, presented the scholarship to Lyons at the BCHS Awards Night in May.  Lyons received a $2,500 scholarship from PEO International and another $500 from PEO Chapter I at its annual picnic on June 12.

PEO is a philanthropic organization where women celebrate the advancement of women; educate women through scholarships, grants, awards and loans; and have stewardship of Cottey College. It strives to motivate women to achieve their highest aspirations. PEO International will celebrate its 150th Anniversary in 2019.

PEO STAR Scholarships is a competitive, one-time scholarship given to a graduating high-school senior for use at an accredited college or university.

Local PEO holds monthly meeting

On April 17, PEO Chapter I held its monthly meeting at Bunny Scutchfield’s home in Danville. Officers for the coming year were installed by Shelia Blandford as follows:

president, Kathy Simpson; guard, Jan Scott; vice-president, Bunny Scutchfield; treasurer, Margaret Milburn; recording secretary, Evelyn Page; corresponding secretary, Jane Boyd; chaplain, Susan Hunstad.

Kathy Simpson and Jane Boyd were delegates to the 2017 PEO Kentucky State Convention in Louisville in May.  

On June 1, Chapter I held its Annual PEO Chautauqua Tea in conjunction with the Great American Brass Band Festival. There were 150 in attendance at the Tea at Centenary Church on Perryville Road, with Don Domek and the Chicago Footwarmers Band as entertainment. Funds raised at the tea will go toward Chapter I’s annual donations to PEO International Scholarships and Cottey College.

There are nearly 6,000 PEO Chapters in the United States and Canada with almost 250,000 initiated members. The first Kentucky PEO Chapter A formed in Louisville in 1930 and Danville’s Chapter I formed in 1953. There are now have 44 PEO Chapters in Kentucky.

The 2017-18 PEO Chapter I officers pictured from left to right, front row, Kathy Simpson, and Margaret Ann Milburn. Back row from left, Bunny Scutchfield, Jan Scott and Susan Hunstad. Not pictured are Evelyn Page and Jane Boyd.