Keepsakes, July 26

Published 8:25 am Wednesday, July 26, 2017

KSP Trooper awarded
LEXINGTON – Justice Secretary John Tilley joined Kentucky State Police Commissioner Richard Sanders in recognizing 79 KSP troopers and Commercial Vehicle Enforcement officers for bravery, life-saving acts, and dedication to duty, at a ceremony held July 21.
Detective Alex Wesley II, a Liberty resident, was named 2016 Arson Investigator of the Year. A 14-year veteran of the Kentucky State Police, he is assigned to KSP Post 15 in Columbia. He is the son of Eddie and Deborah Wesley of Liberty and Tom and Nona Childers Beneke of Somerset.

Local high school students complete 30th anniversary class of the Governor’s School for the Arts

This summer, The Kentucky Center hosted more than 250 eager young artists from every region of the commonwealth, as The Kentucky Center Governor’s School for the Arts (GSA) took place at Danville’s Centre College from June 18 to July 8. 

Email newsletter signup

During their three-week stay, 255 student artists from 47 counties were immersed in a rigorous schedule of daily seminars, master-classes, lectures, hands-on workshops and field trips to regional arts attractions.  Instruction was offered in nine disciplines: architecture+design, creative writing, dance, drama, instrumental music, musical theatre, film+photography, visual art and vocal music.

Completing the program from Boyle County are, from left, Bailey Alexander, Boyle County High School, drama; Simon Loftus, homeschool, drama; Becky Mohr, Danville High School, creative writing; Becca Tarter, BCHS, film + photography; Joseth Warner, DHS, drama.

FFA news

Nine students from the Boyle County FFA Chapter participated in the Washington Leadership Conference June 27-July 2 in Washington D.C. Pictured back row from left, Adriana Crockett, Makayla Richter, Advisor Toni Myers, Alexis Sosh, Michaela Carpenter, and Blake Carpenter. Front row, Ethan Houghton, Sarah Randall, Chase Bradshaw and Trinity Sinkhorn.

FFA State Convention was held June 5-8 at Rupp Arena. The keynote speaker was National Officer Trey Elizondo,center, and Blake and Michaela Carpenter spoke with him afterwards.

Five Boyle County FFA members received the highest degree awarded from Kentucky FFA – The State Degree. Pictured from left are Emma Nolan, Taylor Graves, Cori Quesenberry, Karli Graves and Cheyanne Maupin.

Congratulations to Taylor Graves, left, for winning the state proficiency area in Dairy Entrepreneurship.

June 19-June 23 Boyle County FFA had 24 members attend the Kentucky Leadership Training Center (FFA Camp) in Hardinsburg. They attended workshops, officer classes and had eight members receive the Outstanding Leadership Award. Pictured are front row, from left, Makayla Richter, Adriana Crockett, Trinity Sinkhorn, Sarah Randall and Kylee Miller.
Back row from left, Michaela Carpenter, Megan Kidd, Kaylee Gilpin, Jenna Moses, Megan Johnston, Madison Warren, Katie Sparks, Blake Carpenter, Daniel McQuery, Chase Bradshaw, Alexis Sosh, Hannah Sharp, Tristan Harp, Caitlin Kreider, Matt Pingleton, Ethan Houghton, Landry Woodrum, Madison Noel and Taylor Sharp.
Advisors not pictured are Toni Myers and Matt Whitaker.

Twenty seven Boyle County FFA members competed in multiple areas at the Kentucky State FFA Convention June 5-8. Pictured back row from left, Landry Woodrum, Jacob Graves, Daniel McQuery, Chase Bradshaw, Blake Carpenter, Tristan Harp, Ethan Houghton, Cori Quesenbery and Nikkole Rogers.
Middle row: Karli Graves, Katie Sparks, Alexis Sosh, Michaela Carpenter and Hannah Sharp.
Front row, Jenna Moses, Madison Warren, Trinity Sinkhorn, Madison Noel, Taylor Graves, Emma Nolan, Cheyanne Maupin, Makayla Richter, Sarah Randall, Kaylee Gilpin and Megan Kidd. Not pictured: Megan Johnston.


Reed wins Kings Island tickets

HARRODSBURG — Through a recent Facebook contest, MainSource Bank presented four Kings Island tickets toHarrodsburg resident, Angela Reed.

Pictured are Arrius Harris with MainSource Bank and Angela Reed, winner.