Election 2018: Eight candidates file on first day

Published 7:44 pm Wednesday, November 8, 2017

There was a steady flow of candidates waiting to file for office Wednesday morning, the first day to file for the 2018 elections — a total of eight filed for seven offices.

Kendra Peek/kendra.peek@amnews.com
Magistrate John Caywood completes his paperwork to file for the 2018 magistrate race Wednesday morning.

All local offices are up for election in 2018. First day filings include:

• Trille L. Bottom, Democrat, incumbent, Boyle County Clerk, 3511 Whites Road, Perryville;

Email newsletter signup

• John B. Caywood, Democrat, incumbent, Magistrate District 6, 423 Maple Ave., Danville;

• Jack Hendricks, Democrat, incumbent, Magistrate District 4, 145 Old Bridge Road, Danville;

• Christopher K. Herron, Republican, Boyle County Attorney, 1005 Stonewall Ct., Danville;

• Christopher Derek Robbins, Democrat, incumbent, Boyle County Sheriff, 108 Tom Spragens Road, Danville;

• Phillip R. Sammons, Democrat, incumbent, Magistrate District 3, 3564 Perryville Road, Danville;

• Dewayne Taylor, Democrat, Boyle County Jailer, 407 Cemetery Street, Junction City; and

Kendra Peek/kendra.peek@amnews.com
Sheriff Derek Robbins files for the 2018 race for Boyle County Sheriff.

• Brian Wofford, Democrat, Boyle County Jailer, 106 Weatherby Lane, Danville.

Also on the ballot will be the Boyle County Property Valuation Administrator, Boyle County Circuit Clerk, Boyle County Judge Executive, Boyle County School Board Districts 2 and 3, three position on the Danville Independent School Board and Boyle County Soil Conservation District.

The last day to file for the 2018 primary election will be Jan. 30, 2018.

The seats for Junction City Council and Perryville City Council, as well as the cities’ mayors, must be filed by August.

Kendra Peek/kendra.peek@amnews.com
Dewayne Taylor files for the 2018 race for Boyle County Jailer.

Photo submitted Christopher K. Herron, files for Republican, Boyle County Attorney.