ELECTION 2018: Two file for reelection, Gay files for magistrate

Published 8:36 am Monday, December 4, 2017

Three more have filed for the 2018 election in the office of Boyle County Clerk Trille Bottom.

• Jamie Gay, Democrat, Boyle County Magistrate District 5, 141 North 5th Street, Danville;

• James A. Murphy, Democrat, incumbent, Boyle County Constable District 3, 217 Fox Run Trail, Danville; and

Email newsletter signup

• Rick Serres, Danville City Commissioner, 114 Berwick Drive, Danville.

Gay is running for the position currently held by Patty Burke. Burke has not filed for reelection. He served as a Danville City Commissioner from 1999 until the mid-2000s.

The race for Danville City Commissioner is non-partisan.

All filings to date:

Boyle County Attorney: Incumbent Lynne Pierce Dean, Democrat, and Christopher K. Herron, Republican.

Boyle County Clerk: Trille L. Bottom, Democrat.

Boyle County Constable: District 3, James A. Murphy, Democrat, incumbent.

Boyle County Coroner: Don Hamner, Republican, incumbent.

Boyle County Jailer: Dewayne Taylor, Democrat, Brian Wofford, Democrat.

Boyle County Judge Executive: Gary Chidester, Democrat; Lynn Harmon, Republican.

Boyle County Magistrate, District 1, Richard “Dickie” Mayes, Democrat, incumbent; District 2, Donnie Coffman, Democrat, incumbent; District 3, Phillip R. Sammons, Democrat, incumbent; District 4, Jack Hendricks, Democrat, incumbent; District 5, Jamie Gay, Democrat; District 6, John B. Caywood, Democrat, incumbent.

Boyle County Property Valuation Administrator: Eddie Tamme, Democrat.

Boyle County Sheriff: Christopher Derek Robbins, Democrat.

Circuit Court Clerk: Cortney Shewmaker, Democrat.

Danville City Commissioner: Rick Serres, incumbent. (Non-partisan)