Chamber Seeks Nominations for Annual Awards

Published 8:48 am Thursday, December 7, 2017

Danville-Boyle County Chamber of Commerce

News release

The Danville-Boyle County Chamber is seeking nominations from the business community and the community-at- large for their Annual Awards, which include:

Email newsletter signup

Outstanding Citizen Award – Outstanding Citizens have been recognized by the Chamber for 35 years. This award has been presented to those who have volunteered hundreds of hours to benefit their community and their fellowman. These hours have generally involved interests and dedication in many areas rather than being focused in one area in particular. Some recipients have included Myrna Miller, Steve Rinehart, John Albright, Brenda Willoughby Brown, Greg Caudill, Nancy Caudill, Bruce Montgomery and Brenda Willoughby Brown.

Business Person of the Year- This award is presented to an individual for community service, civic leadership, personal character, peer respect, and Chamber involvement. Some past winners include Nina Kirkland, Patti Powell, Dr. Thomas Baeker and David Williams.

Outstanding Business (large & small) – This award is presented to a business for growth, business appearance, community service and Chamber participation. Small business is classified as a business with less than 50 employees and a large business is considered 50 or more employees. Some of the previous winners have been Caterpillar, Centre College, Meggitt Aircraft Braking Systems Kentucky Corporation, American Greetings, Denyo Corp., Inter-County Energy and Ephraim McDowell Health.

Community Impact Award – This award is presented to individuals or organizations that respond to an identified need and initiate actions that affect people in the community in significant or profound ways. Those responsible for such efforts do not seek personal gain or notoriety. Nevertheless, the results of their actions deserve to be recognized. Some past winners have been Kathy Nelson and the Danville-Boyle County Humane Society, Heritage Hospice Veteran’s Committee, KY State BBQ Festival, Danville-Boyle County Airport Board, Happy Paws Spay/Neuter Clinic and Hope Clinic.

Outstanding Volunteer Award – This award is presented to an individual for dedicated community service to an organization or organizations in our non-profit community. These winners have included Doris Purdom and Shirley Shepperson, Katie Turbyfill, Jack Hendricks, and Virginia Birney.

Legacy Award – Bestowed, only on occasion, to honor an individual whose life left an indelible mark on our community. This individual would be widely known and recognized because of significant involvement in the leadership of the community and its many organizations. Past winners include: Bill Pollom, John Stigall, Thomas B. McKune and Alex Stevens.

To nominate someone, please email the Chamber to request the award form at or call 859-236- 2361, ext. 120. Nominations should be submitted by Dec. 13.