Election 2018: Third candidate files for Judge-executive race

Published 10:26 pm Thursday, January 18, 2018

The race for Boyle County Judge Executive is expanding, as a third person has filed through the office of the Boyle County Clerk.

David Alan Reeves, 1126 W. Secretariat Drive, Danville, has filed to run as a Democrat. Reeves did not respond to phone calls by press time, but was reached after.

He said he decided to run after being approached by a few different people. A native of Boyle County, with his youngest child at Eastern Kentucky University, Reeves said he felt it was time to give back to the county. 

Email newsletter signup

“One of the goals I would really like to see would be continued growth for the county. I’m very thrilled with the factory expansions we’ve had in recent months,” Reeves said.

He said he would like to see more technology-based companies being brought to Boyle County, too.

“When our kids go to college, I think it would be cool to have jobs for them to come home to. We have some of that … It’s certainly something I would like to see more of.”

Reeves will be competing for the county’s top seat against Gary Chidester, a fellow Democrat, and Lynn Harmon, a Republican.

The seat is currently held by Boyle County Judge-Executive Harold McKinney, who has expressed an intent to not run again.

Also newly filed in January: Rane Eir Olivia Sessions, Democrat, 1388 JB Ball Lane, Webster, filed through the Kentucky Secretary of State’s Office to run for U.S. Representative for the Second District.

Filings to date:

• Boyle County Attorney: incumbent Lynne Pierce Dean, Democrat; and Christopher K. Herron, Republican.

• Boyle County Clerk: Trille L. Bottom, Democrat.

• Boyle County Constable, District 1: incumbent Don “Buck” Sawyer, Democrat.

• Boyle County Constable, District 2: Dennis Curtsinger, Democrat.

• Boyle County Constable, District 3: incumbent James A. Murphy, Democrat.

• Boyle County Coroner: incumbent Don Hamner, Republican.

• Boyle County Jailer: Dewayne Taylor, Democrat; Brian Wofford, Democrat; Bobby J. Potts, Democrat.

• Boyle County Judge-Executive: Gary Chidester, Democrat; Lynn Harmon, Republican; David Alan Reeves, Democrat.

• Boyle County Magistrate, District 1: incumbent Richard “Dickie” Mayes, Democrat.

• Boyle County Magistrate, District 2: incumbent Donnie Coffman, Democrat.

• Boyle County Magistrate, District 3: incumbent Phillip R. Sammons, Democrat.

• Boyle County Magistrate, District 4: incumbent Jack Hendricks, Democrat.

• Boyle County Magistrate, District 5: Jamey Gay, Democrat.

• Boyle County Magistrate, District 6: incumbent John B. Caywood, Democrat.

• Boyle County Property Valuation Administrator: incumbent Eddie Tamme, Democrat; Brian Darnell, Republican.

• Boyle County Sheriff: Christopher Derek Robbins, Democrat.

• Circuit Court Clerk: Cortney Shewmaker, Democrat.

• Danville City Commissioner (six seats, non-partisan): incumbent Rick Serres.

• Commonwealth’s Attorney covering Boyle and Mercer counties: incumbent Richard “Richie” Bottoms, Democrat.

• District Judge covering Boyle and Mercer counties (nonpartisan): incumbent Jeff L. Dotson.

• State Representative for the 54th District (Boyle and Casey counties): incumbent Daniel B. Elliott, Republican

• Judge of the Court of Appeals 5th District, first division (nonpartisan): Pamela R. Goodwine, Rob Johnson

U.S. Representative for the 2nd District: incumbent S. Brett Guthrie, Republican; Brian Pedigo, Democrat; Rane Eir Olivia Sessions, Democrat; Grant Short, Democrat.