ELECTION 2018: Fourth files for Boyle County Judge-executive race

Published 2:55 am Friday, January 26, 2018

Tamme withdraws from PVA race

A fourth person has filed for the office of Boyle County judge-executive.

General Howard Hunt III, of 4369 Perryville Road, filed on Thursday as a Republican. It’s the first foray into political office for the retired brigadier general, who served 34 years in the Kentucky Air National Guard and the United States Air Force.

Email newsletter signup

It isn’t, however, Hunt’s first experience with government; his father Howard Hunt Jr. served as a state representative. Gen. Hunt started working as a page while still a young boy. Throughout his life, he has worked for various departments of state and federal government, most recently retiring from the Kentucky Association of Counties in 2014.

“The big thing that I want to do is I really want to focus on my leadership experience. Leadership — it does matter,” Hunt said. “I want to bring unity to the county and the party through leadership and listening.”

Hunt said he was approached by several people of both parties asking him to run. He was one of four Republicans who filed on Thursday morning. Other recent fillings in the Boyle County Clerk’s Office include:

• Stephen E. Cline, Republican, Magistrate District 5, 124 Farris Court, Danville;

• Steve Devine, Independent, Magistrate District 1, 3480 Mitchellburg Road, Danville;

• Tim Dexter, incumbent, Republican, Constable, District 5, 537 Barbee Way, Danville;

• Rita Douglas, Republican, Jailer, 105 Allyson Circle, Junction City;

• Tom Ellis, Republican, Magistrate District 1, 6571 Perryville Road, Danville;

• Lacresha “My” Gibson, Democrat, Property Valuation Administrator, 6511 Perryville Road, Danville;

• Carl Gwinn, Republican, Magistrate District 2, 5499 White Oak Road, Junction City;

• LeeRoy Hardin, Republican, Boyle County Jailer, 527 Ky.  1273, Danville;

• James Henson, Democrat, Constable, District 2, 125 Pumpkin Run Road, Danville; and

• Denise Terry, incumbent, Danville City Commission, 640 North Third Street, Danville. This is a non partisan race.

Eddie Tamme has withdrawn from the race for Property Valuation Administrator. He said the uncertainty with retirement played into his decision to withdraw.

“I had planned on running again … The uncertainty, I thought it would be foolish of me to run a campaign and then, depending on what the legislature does with our pension, be forced to resign,” he said. “I don’t know if I’m doing the right thing or wrong thing, but I’m afraid the money won’t be there.”

“It’s about like playing ‘Let’s Make a Deal.’ Do I want door number one or door number two?”

Tamme said he fully supported his chief deputy, Lacresha Gibson, who filed to run the day Tamme withdrew and has about 20 years of experience.

Other fillings include:

Boyle County Attorney: incumbent Lynne Pierce Dean, Democrat, and Christopher K. Herron, Republican.

Boyle County Clerk: Trille L. Bottom, Democrat.

Boyle County Constable: District 1, Don “Buck” Sawyer, Democrat, incumbent; District 2, Dennis Curtsinger, Democrat; District 3, James A. Murphy, Democrat, incumbent.

Boyle County Coroner: Don Hamner, Republican, incumbent.

Boyle County Jailer: Dewayne Taylor, Democrat, Brian Wofford, Democrat, Bobby J. Potts, Democrat.

Boyle County Judge Executive: Gary Chidester, Democrat; Lynn Harmon, Republican; David Alan Reeves, Democrat.

Boyle County Magistrate, District 1, Richard “Dickie” Mayes, Democrat, incumbent; District 2, Donnie Coffman, Democrat, incumbent; District 3, Phillip R. Sammons, Democrat, incumbent; District 4, Jack Hendricks, Democrat, incumbent; District 5, Jamey Gay, Democrat; District 6, John B. Caywood, Democrat, incumbent.

Boyle County Property Valuation Administrator: Brian Darnell, Republican.

Boyle County Sheriff: Christopher Derek Robbins, Democrat.

Circuit Court Clerk: Cortney Shewmaker, Democrat.

Danville City Commissioner (nonpartisan): Rick Serres, incumbent.

Commonwealth’s Attorney covering Boyle and Mercer counties: Richard “Richie” Bottoms, incumbent, Democrat.

District Judge covering Boyle and Mercer counties (nonpartisan): Jeff L. Dotson, incumbent.

State Representative for the 54th District (covering Boyle and Casey counties): Daniel B. Elliott, incumbent, Republican.

Judge of the Court of Appeals 5th District, first division (nonpartisan, covering Anderson, Bourbon, Boyle, Clark, Fayette, Franklin, Jessamine, Madison, Mercer, Scott and Woodford counties): Pamela R. Goodwine, Rob Johnson.

United States Representative for the 2nd District (covering Barren, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Daviess, Edmonson, Grayson, Green, Hancock, Hardin, Hart, Larue, Meade, Nelson, Spencer (part), Warren, Washington (part), Boyle, Butler, Garrard, Jessamine (part), Mercer): S. Brett Guthrie, incumbent Republican, Brian Pedigo, Democrat, Rane Eir Olivia Sessions, Democrat, Grant Short, Democrat.