ELECTION 2018: Filings close with 55 total candidates

Published 8:30 am Wednesday, January 31, 2018

Fifty-five candidates across 25 races will appear on the primary election ballot when voters go to the polls on May 22. The window to file for partisan races closed at 4 p.m. Tuesday.

The final partisan filings made in the Boyle County Clerk’s office on Monday and Tuesday were:

• George Coomer, Republican, Boyle County Clerk, 240 Little Needmore Rd, P.O. Box 1511, Danville;

Email newsletter signup

• Timothy Wayne Gooch, Democrat, Constable, Sixth District, 403 Meadowbrook Drive, Danville;

• John C. Hambel, Democrat, Constable, Third District, incumbent, 533 Jean Drive, Danville;

• Robert Earl Robinson, Republican, Magistrate, Fourth District, 80 Old Lancaster Road, Danville;

• Suzanne Smith Sandidge, Democrat, Magistrate, Fifth District, 439 Meadow Lane, Danville; and

• Ronald Short, Republican, Magistrate, Second District, 6005 White Oak Road, Junction City.

In addition, three candidates filed for non-partisan seats:

• Ronald Devrick, non-partisan, Danville City Commission, 105 Berwick Dr, Danville;

• Charles Singleton, non-partisan, Danville City Commission, 317 Burton Circle, Danville; and

• James “JH” Atkins, non-partisan, incumbent, Danville City Commission, 1200 Glenellen Court, Danville.

With Atkins, Devrick and Singleton filed, there are now six candidates for Danville City Commission. Coomer is the second candidate to file for clerk, the other being incumbent Democrat Trille Bottom. Hambel is the second candidate in his race; Gooch is the first. Robinson, Sandidge and Short are each the third to file in their respective races.

Filings with the Kentucky Secretary of State Office include:

• Anne Ray Streeter, Democrat, State Representative for the 54th District, 4891 S. KY Hwy. 501, Liberty; and

• Hank Linderman, Democrat, U.S. Representative for the 2nd District, 1182 Paradise Acres Road, Falls of Rough.

Streeter will face incumbent Republican Daniel Elliott in the general election. Linderman is facing four others, including incumbent Republican Brett Guthrie.

The general election is scheduled for Nov. 6; the filing deadline for non-partisan races, including for the mayoral and city-council seats in Junction City and Perryville, will be in August.

The list of prior candidates who already filed is: 

• Boyle County Attorney: incumbent Lynne Pierce Dean, Democrat; and Christopher K. Herron, Republican.

• Boyle County Clerk: incumbent Trille L. Bottom, Democrat.

• Boyle County Constable, District 1: incumbent Don “Buck” Sawyer, Democrat.

• Boyle County Constable, District 2: Dennis Curtsinger, Democrat; James Henson, Democrat.

• Boyle County Constable, District 3: incumbent James A. Murphy, Democrat.

• Boyle County Constable, District 5: incumbent Tim Dexter, Republican.

• Boyle County Coroner: incumbent Don Hamner, Republican.

• Boyle County Jailer: Dewayne Taylor, Democrat; Brian Wofford, Democrat; Bobby J. Potts, Democrat; Rita Douglas, Republican; LeeRoy Hardin, Republican.

• Boyle County Judge-Executive: Gary Chidester, Democrat; Lynn Harmon, Republican; David Alan Reeves, Democrat; Howard Hunt III, Republican.

• Boyle County Magistrate, District 1: incumbent Richard “Dickie” Mayes, Democrat; Steve Devine, Independent; Tom Ellis, Republican.

• Boyle County Magistrate, District 2: incumbent Donnie Coffman, Democrat; Carl Gwinn, Republican.

• Boyle County Magistrate, District 3: incumbent Phillip R. Sammons, Democrat.

• Boyle County Magistrate, District 4: incumbent Jack Hendricks, Democrat; Jason Cullen, Republican.

• Boyle County Magistrate, District 5: Jamey Gay, Democrat; Stephen E. Cline, Republican.

• Boyle County Magistrate, District 6: incumbent John B. Caywood, Democrat.

• Boyle County Property Valuation Administrator: Brian Darnell, Republican; Lacresha “My” Gibson, Democrat.

• Boyle County Sheriff: incumbent Christopher Derek Robbins, Democrat.

• Boyle County Circuit Court Clerk: incumbent Cortney Shewmaker, Democrat.

• Danville City Commissioner (non-partisan): incumbent Rick Serres, incumbent Denise Terry, incumbent Kevin Caudill.

• Danville Mayor (non-partisan): Mike Perros, incumbent.

• Commonwealth’s Attorney covering Boyle and Mercer counties: incumbent Richard “Richie” Bottoms, Democrat.

• District judge covering Boyle and Mercer counties (non-partisan): incumbent Jeff L. Dotson.

• State Representative for the 54th District covering Boyle and Casey counties: incumbent Daniel B. Elliott, Republican.

• Judge of the Court of Appeals 5th District, first division (non-partisan): Pamela R. Goodwine, Rob Johnson.

• U.S. Representative for the 2nd District: incumbent S. Brett Guthrie, Republican; Brian Pedigo, Democrat; Rane Eir Olivia Sessions, Democrat; Grant Short, Democrat.