Wilderness Trace Community Foundation accepting scholarship applications

Published 11:32 am Monday, February 19, 2018


News release

The Wilderness Trace Community Foundation, an affiliate of The Community Foundation of Louisville, is currently accepting applications for three area scholarships (the Jack Freeman Scholarship, the Garland and Thelma May Scholarship, and the Rowland Family Scholarship). To apply, interested applicants should visit www.cflouisville.org/scholarships/ or contact Emory Williamson at EmoryW@cflouisville.org. The scholarship application deadline for the 2018-2019 academic year is Thursday, March 15 at 11:59 p.m.

Email newsletter signup

In the current academic year, 28 awards, totaling $32,500, were made to deserving students from the various scholarship funds housed at the Wilderness Trace Community Foundation. Each scholarship recipient is selected by criteria designated by the individual fund and subsequently reviewed by their respective scholarship committee. The following students were awarded scholarship(s) for the 2017-2018 academic year:

The Jack Freeman Scholarship was established for graduates of Boyle County, Danville Christian Academy, Danville Independent, and Kentucky School for the Deaf. Recipients for the 2017-2018 academic year were Boyle County graduates Ana-Maria Starcevic, Cole Daron Stewart, Jenny Elizabeth Cox, and Taylor Stewart.

Through a charitable remainder trust gift from R. Jack Freeman, M.D., the Jack Freeman Scholarship Fund was established in 2005.

“My brothers and I came to understand that he spoke from the perspective of someone who had lived through many extremes,” said Jack Freeman, Jr. specifically touting his father’s upbringing during the Great Depression. “My father said more than once, ‘There are a lot of things you can work for in life, but always work toward your education. You might lose everything, but no one can ever take your education away from you.’”

The Garland and Thelma May Scholarship provides merit-based assistance to graduates of Mercer County High School. Recipients were Jae Young Blankenship, Levi Chase Cocanougher, Mason Stewart Dressler, Joshua C. Gerbino, Britney Nicole Hughes, Alexander Lee McRay, Andrew Theodore Morlote, and Donald Wayne Smith II.

The Rowland Family Scholarship was established by Charles Burton “Burt” Rowland of Harrodsburg to support post-secondary education of qualified students from Anderson, Boyle, Garrard, Lincoln, and Mercer Counties. Recipients from Mercer County: Jae Young Blankenship, Evan B. Cole, Hailey Culp, Holly Scott Darnall, Ethan Garrett Gray, Taylor Aren Gray, Britney Nicole Hughes, Alyssa Martin, Daniel Kaleb McDonald, Tyler Hunter Mobley, Andrew Theodore Morlote, David Miguel Morlote, Victoria Lee Nash, and Nicole Rawlings; Boyle County: Keneisha Ebony Johnson and Jenny Elizabeth Cox; Lincoln County: Monica Lynn Jackson, Madelyn Emily LaFavers, Ana-Maria Starcevic, Cole Daron Stewart, and Taylor Stewart; Garrard County: Daryn J. Starr.

C.B. Rowland started the scholarship fund in 1993 to support post-secondary education for students residing in counties served by R.V. Cablevision, a multi-million dollar business that Rowland founded with Curtis Votaw in 1965.

“It’s especially gratifying to see our money being used to meet local needs,” said Carol Conover, the daughter of C.B. Rowland. “[It’s] comforting to know that the funds will provide grants forever. I know these funds are making a difference for young people who need assistance.”