College news, May 09

Published 6:12 am Wednesday, May 9, 2018

Lincoln student earns EKU scholarship 

RICHMOND — Kaylie Petrey, a 2018 Lincoln County High School senior and member of the Eastern Kentucky University Upward Bound program, has received the $500 Dr. Richard “Richie” Hunley Scholarship.

The scholarship fund was created in memory of Hunley, who passed away unexpectedly in 2016 and was known for his generosity, friendship and dedication to first-generation students and KY TRIO.


Email newsletter signup

The scholarship was presented by KY TRIO, a non-profit educational organization dedicated to helping students of all ages who want to be the first in their families to attend college. 

The scholarship is awarded to one high school student in the state who is served by a TRIO program and who has demonstrated the determination and drive to graduate from college.

Petrey has successfully completed three years of EKU Upward Bound and will continue her educational journey at EKU as a nursing major.

To learn more about the EKU Upward Bound Program, contact Tamara Stewart at (859) 622-1083 or, or visit

Students receive awards at UC

WILLIAMSBURG – University of the Cumberlands (UC) recently honored students with awards from its academic departments in recognition of students’ dedication to their studies as well as their outstanding character and achievements.

Eric Bowen of Stanford received the Elementary Education Award.

Joseph Burke of Danville received the P.R. Jones Chemistry Outstanding Senior Award.

Kayla Breitenbach of Danville received the Elementary Education Award.

Olivia Hall of Lancaster received the Elementary Education Online Award.

The University congratulates all its departmental award recipients for their hard work during the spring semester.

Also in recognition of academic performance, the Office of the Vice President for Academic Affairs aannounced the students named to the president’s List for the spring 2018 semester.

The local students named are Kelli Griffin of Harrodsburg; Richard Post of Stanford; and Josiah Robbins of Burgin.