EMRMC receives quality award from association 

Published 6:11 am Wednesday, May 16, 2018


Press release

Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center has been recognized for the high quality of care given to its patients. On May 11, EMRMC received the 2018 Kentucky Hospital Association Quality Award. The KHA Quality Award is presented to honor hospital leadership and innovation in quality, safety and commitment in patient care. It was presented to EMRMC for its efforts in reducing infection rates for hospital-onset Clostridium difficile (C-diff).

Email newsletter signup

In April 2014, a core team was formed at EMRMC with a purpose of improving patient care through evidence-based practices to reduce C-diff infection by increasing hand hygiene education throughout the community, proper utilization of antibiotics, cleaning and disinfecting patient rooms using an ultra-violet disinfecting robot, and ongoing performance improvement including the analysis of testing.The committee’s mission was to reduce C-diff infections with the populations that we serve by evaluating our infection prevention and control methods.

The multi-disciplinary committee is comprised of infection preventionists, nursing Associates, medical staff leaders, environmental services Associates, laboratory Associates, clinical effectiveness Associates and members of our senior leadership team.

                                                                         Photo contributed
From left, Lynne Warner Lynn; Jason Dean, director of clinical effectiveness; Sally Davenport, president and CEO of Ephraim McDowell Health; Rick Scott, director of Laboratory; Ginger East, infection prevention specialist; and Kristin Steele, cancer care program leader pose with the award.

Because of the tireless efforts of this group, improvements in the quality of care and outcomes for our patients have been achieved through standardized processes that helped EMRMC reduce hospital onset C-diff rates by more than 70 percent since 2014. Danville is one of two Kentucky locations with high rates of C-Diff in the community, which makes this reduction even more significant.

“This award from the Kentucky Hospital Association validates the hard work and dedication of our Associates and Physicians in providing the best care possible to our patients,” says Dr. Lynne Warner Lynn, vice president of clinical effectiveness and medical staff services for Ephraim McDowell Health and administrator at Ephraim McDowell James B. Haggin Hospital.