Transportation Cabinet removing illegally placed signage

Published 6:35 am Saturday, September 15, 2018


News release

LEXINGTON — Kentucky Transportation Cabinet crews will continue to remove illegally placed items along state maintained right of way areas.  No signage is allowed on right of way for U.S. and Kentucky routes — other than official highway signs and items approved through a permit process.

Email newsletter signup

As the election cycle draws near, campaign signs must be placed beyond right of way limits.  Right of way fence is included with this restriction.  For roads with a right of way fence, no signs may be attached.  The restriction also includes signage for yard sales and real estate advertising.  In addition, it is illegal to attach items such as flyers, posters, balloons or streamers to stop signs, highway markers or any other road sign or utility pole.

Homeowners who maintain their lawn to the pavement edge should also keep yard signs behind the right of way line.  All signage should be behind sidewalks.  In areas without sidewalks, all signs should be behind the ditch line and outside areas commonly mowed or maintained by highway crews.  Often, utility poles will mark the edge of highway right of way.  On four-lane highways with controlled access or limited access, no signs should be placed on the highway side of the fence line or the fence.

Items placed on right of way areas create significant delays for mowing crews and are potential hazards for mowing operators and passing motorists.  Illegally placed materials along roads can create additional hazards by blocking sight distance or distracting drivers, particularly at intersections.  The illegal placement on utility poles presents additional obstacles and potential dangers for utility crew workers.

Removed items will be taken to each county’s KYTC maintenance facility and held for a month.   Unclaimed materials will be trashed or recycled.   Questions related to legal and illegal sign placement can be directed to District 7 in Lexington at (859) 246-2355.

District 7 maintains over 3,000 miles of roadway and includes Anderson, Bourbon, Boyle, Clark, Fayette, Garrard, Jessamine, Madison, Mercer, Montgomery, Scott and Woodford counties.