Mercer candidate forums Oct. 22, 23 and 25

Published 6:20 am Friday, October 19, 2018


News release

HARRODSBURG — Two General Election political candidate forums will be held at 7 p.m. Monday and Tuesday, Oct. 22 and 23, at Lions Park Community Center. A third forum will be at 7 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 25 in the Burgin School cafeteria. All forums will start with an opportunity to meet the candidates at 6 a.m. and the forums go live on WHBN at 7 p.m..

Email newsletter signup

On Oct. 22, candidates invited include: PVA — Jessica Elliott and David L. Best; Mercer County clerk — Rodney Compton and Chris Horn; Mercer County sheriff — Kevin D. Bugg and Ernie Kelty; Mercer County jailer — Bret “Chambo” Chamberlain and William Moore; Mercer County magistrate District 4 — George R. Jones and Donald Webb; and Mercer County constable District 3 — Greg Collier and Steve Peyton.

On Oct. 23, candidates invited include: U.S. Representative — S. Brett Guthrie, Hank Linderman and Thomas A. Loecken; state senator — Tom Buford and Carolyn Dupont; state representative — Kim King and Cathy Carter; Harrodsburg Mayor — Eddy Long and write-in candidate Arthur L. Freeman; Mercer County Board of Education District 2 — Catherine Lowry, Larry Yeager and O.Patrick Branam; and Mercer County Board of Education District 3 — Billy G. Montgomery and Andrew Jackson Miner.

On Oct. 25, candidates invited include: Burgin Mayor — James Caldwell and George Hensley; Burgin City Council — Crystal Peavler, Sindicat “Sid” Dunn, David R. Peavler, Joseph Monroe,  Melissa Ann Bailey, John “Skippy” Stamp, Frances Hayslett Cord, David Caldwell, Jamie Keebortz, Tamica Lynn and Lisa Hisle; and Burgin Independent School District — Shelby Martin, Mary Jo Lawson, Darryl G. Peavler II, Zack Gross, Tressa T. Brown, Katrina Ann Sexton and Robert “Bob” Clark.

Candidates will have two minutes to answer questions from Dr. Earl Motzer, who will serve as moderator, and two minutes to make closing statements. The candidates will not be able to ask each other questions and there will be no questions from the audience during the forums.

However, you may submit questions up to one hour before the forums start. Voters may call, text or email Democratic Party Chair Neila Monroe at (859) 319-3558 or or Republican Party Chair Roxanna Parks at (859) 265-0771 or The Chairs will jointly decide which questions to ask and give them to the moderator just prior to the start of the forums.

Sponsors are the Democratic and Republican parties, Hometown Radio WHBN, the Harrodsburg Herald, Best Sound Around and Rockensmith Sounds.

The forums will be broadcast live on WHBN and streamed on the web at