Area Farm Bureau chapters honored at annual meeting

Published 6:46 am Friday, December 7, 2018


LOUISVILLE — Area Farm Bureau chapters and members received numerous awards during Kentucky Farm Bureau’s annual meeting in Louisville.

Email newsletter signup

Farm Bureau chapters in Boyle, Mercer and Lincoln counties received 2018 Gold Star of Excellence awards. The award honors county women’s committees for active participation in leadership development programs, agricultural promotion, educational initiatives and numerous other aspects of support to the local Farm Bureau.

Lincoln County Farm Bureau and Mercer County Farm Bureau also received the 2018 Young Farmer Gold Star Award of Excellence. The award honors the counties’ young farmer committees for their active participation in Farm Bureau leadership development programs, state competitions, and educational or promotional initiatives.

Mercer County Farm Bureau was honored for its first-place finish in the 2018 County Information Awards competition. Beth Kelly, information chair of Mercer County Farm Bureau, attended an awards breakfast at the organization’s annual meeting in Louisville and was presented with the plaque and cash award given for the variety of effective public relations programs she coordinated over the last year.

The county information awards are presented annually to recognize the best programs for member information and media relations performed at the local level. Criteria for winning entries includes developing a plan for regular communication with the county’s membership, securing news stories by local media outlets that emphasize issues important to both Farm Bureau and agriculture, hosting a media appreciation event, keeping website content updated, and promoting community relations programs.

Honorable mention for the award was also given to Garrard Farm Bureau for their noteworthy accomplishments in media relations and member information.

Mercer County Farm Bureau was recognized for its outstanding membership and program achievement in 2018. The award honors county Farm Bureau offices who meet the company’s profitability requirements and whose insurance policy growth meets or exceeds its annual growth goal.