Four types of government

Published 6:10 pm Monday, May 6, 2019

It is generally accepted that there are four basic forms of government:  Monarchy, Dictatorship, Oligarchy and Representative Democracy. Other descriptors such as socialism, constitutionalism, laissez faire and federalism may apply in various ways.

Monarchy is a form in which successive members of a royal family hold sway over the populace in a manner which may vary from benevolence to screwing the common folk.

Dictatorship is a form in which a self-selected and probably charismatic individual, with support of sycophants, rules over the populace in a manner which is usually oppressive, i.e. screwing the common folk.

Email newsletter signup

Oligarchy is a form in which a group of powerful men from the corporate or financial sphere gains control,  possibly to the economic benefit of the populace but more likely for the screwing of the common folk.

Representative Democracy is a form in which a thoughtful and informed populace elects representatives to serve their interests, but which leaves the possibility that the common folk will screw themselves.

Final exam coming up!

Ernie Henninger