Quarles announces 17 counties added to Appalachia Proud region

Published 8:31 pm Tuesday, September 10, 2019


Press release

PIKEVILLE — The Kentucky Proud program has added 17 counties to Appalachia Proud, the brand that designates agricultural products from Appalachian Kentucky. Agriculture Commissioner Ryan Quarles announced the additions at the SOAR (Shaping Our Appalachian Region) Summit on Friday, Sept. 6 in Pikeville.

Email newsletter signup

“Now more Kentucky producers can use the Appalachia Proud brand to show their pride in their Appalachian heritage,” Commissioner Quarles said. “Consumers identify Appalachia Proud products with the unique culture and fiercely independent spirit of the region. Agriculture can, and will, generate additional economic activity in the area at every level, from small family farms and farmers’ markets to the giant AppHarvest greenhouse complex that’s under construction in Rowan County. Agriculture has a bright future in Appalachia.”

The new counties were added to conform Appalachia Proud to the definition of Appalachia adopted by SOAR and the federal Appalachian Regional Commission. The counties added to Appalachia Proud are: Adair, Casey, Clark, Clinton, Cumberland, Edmonson, Fleming, Garrard, Green, Hart, Lincoln, Metcalfe, Monroe, Nicholas, Robertson, Russell and Wayne.

Appalachia Proud was launched in 2014 under the Kentucky Proud umbrella to market agricultural products from eastern Kentucky and encourage agricultural development and education in the region. In the coming months, the Kentucky Department of Agriculture (KDA) will refresh the brand with input from the region and members of the brand.

Appalachia Proud is a trademarked brand in the Kentucky Proud family and cannot be copied or used without the express written consent of the KDA, which administers Kentucky Proud and Appalachia Proud.