Scott recognized as ‘Master of City Governance’ by KLC

Published 12:58 pm Friday, October 11, 2019

Danville official one of 25 across state 

Danville City Manager Ron Scott was among 25 city officials from across the state who were recently recognized as Masters of City Governance by the Kentucky League of Cities (KLC).  According to a release from KLC, the City Officials Training Center (COTC) Awards Program event was held during KLC’s annual conference and expo, Sept. 24-27 in Covington. The conference drew in nearly 500 city officials and leaders from across the commonwealth. 

The City Officials Training Center is a voluntary education program administered by the KLC. City officials can complete education levels by attending KLC events and by submitting outside training credit from other municipal training. There are four levels of achievement: Level I — Achievement in City Governance, Level II— Excellence in City Governance, Level III- Masters of City Governance, and the newest designation — Certified Municipal Officer.

Email newsletter signup

Scott said as city manager, he had training on many detailed topics, such as “Avoiding First Amendment Pitfalls at City Hall;” “Municipal Liability and Immunity;” “Annexation and Merger of Governments” and many more, including sessions on planning and zoning, economic development and open meetings. 

“The COTC program provides a variety of training that better equips our city leaders across the state to serve their local communities. With this achievement and the amount of training it represents, citizens are the real winners because our communities are reaping the benefits of better informed leaders,”  said J.D. Chaney, KLC deputy executive director. “This is an impressive feat and a testament to the dedication of these city officials.” 

The Level III- Master of City Governance award requires the city official to attend 90 hours of approved training with three hours of ethics training. 

The others awarded include: Councilmember Vicki Boerger, Fort Mitchell; City Clerk/Treasurer,Laura Brock, Elkton; Mayor George Chinn, Hartford; Mayor Bill Dieruf,  Jeffersontown; Mayor Larry Dixon, Franklin; MayorRon Fields, Flatwoods; Councilmember Pat George, Princeton; Mayor Brent Hagan, Lyndon; Councilmember Doug Hill, Carrollton; Councilmember Steve Johnson, Hodgenville; City Clerk Debbie Lake, Ferguson; Mayor Robert Lawson, Burnside; Mayor Paul Meier, Crestview Hills; Community Planner Douglas Miller, Somerset; Mayor Jim Phelps Jr., Hodgenville; Administrative Liaison Theresa Richey, Henderson; City Administrator Fred Rogers, Shelbyville; City Clerk/Treasurer/Financial Director Rachael Ruffin,Earlington; Mayor Paul Sandefur, Beaver Dam; Councilmember Bill Sheckles, Bardstown; Mayor Mark Stratton, Russellville; Mayor John Tompkins, McKee; Mayor Grayson Vandegrift, Midway; and City Manager Matt Wallingford, Maysville.