Danville educator earns high honor

Published 5:17 pm Friday, December 27, 2019

A Danville educator is among 33 exceptional women leaders that the Kentucky Association of School Administrators (KASA) has selected for its 2020 cohort of the Kentucky Women in Education Leadership (KWEL).
Assistant Superintendent/Chief Academic Officer for the Danville Independent district Sheri Satterly was among those selected.
“For me, being inducted into the KWEL among other phenomenal female leaders, is one of the highest honors I have ever been granted,” Satterly. “The fact that a steering committee saw something in me, through my application and letters of recommendation, tells me that I’m on the right path. Being able to share this with other stellar female educators from around the state is so very humbling. To be put in a group with all of these strong women, some of whom I know through professional means, is amazing.”
Superintendent Dr. Tammy McDonald said she “feels very fortunate” to have Satterly working in this school district.
McDonald described Satterly as being a very strong leader, who has excellent instructional skills and is very knowledgeable about the school district. She also has strong relationships in this community because she’s a graduate from the Danville schools, McDonald said.
Satterly has served the school district at every level, including as a teacher, principal and now assistant superintendent, McDonald said.
Being inducted into KWEL “Is a pretty big honor in our state,” McDonald said.
In Satterly’s application, she wrote that she is considering pursuing a superintendent position, “because I can make a bigger impact at the district level to help children reach their potential and postsecondary goals.”
Satterly said her education philosophy is that all students can learn at high-level standards and they deserve access to rigorous, academically sound teaching practices.
“I love education and students, and I love leadership. Leadership, when provided effectively, can foster continuous improvement in ALL stakeholders. Through this group, I hope to grow in my leadership skills in order to lead continuous improvement in our district.”
Each inductee was chosen through a competitive application process based on specific leadership criteria, according to a news release from KASA. These leaders, along with some of the state’s top female executive educators, will convene Jan. 23-24 in Louisville for an induction ceremony and leadership forum.

According to the release, KWEL is designed for women working in P-12 public education who wish to advance their careers. KWEL members benefit from a support system, leadership development opportunities, career advancement, shared experiences through a network of on-going professional growth and development, coaching and mentoring, and reward and recognition for exemplary leaders.
“KWEL, in its third year, continues to redefine the future for women in public education,” said Dr. Rhonda Caldwell, KASA executive director. “This group of leaders will be instrumental in shaping our students’ futures while shining a new and brighter light on public education.”
The KWEL forum in January will bring both experienced and aspiring leaders together for an extraordinary growth opportunity. Its purpose is three-fold.
First, it will give women who are currently serving in an executive leadership role the opportunity to mentor other women aspiring to lead at the same level. Second, it will support women who aspire to lead but may need the confidence, courage and support to take the next step. Finally, this network can give all women serving in an executive leadership role an additional support system unique to the needs of women and the challenges they face.
Registration for the forum is open at www.kasa.org (Leadership Development tab).
The 2020 inductees are: Lesley Lawson, Camp Dick Robinson Elementary School; Angie Akers, Marion Co.; Jill Angelucci, Clark Co.; Tiffany Austin, Paintsville Ind.; Angela Ballinger, Wayne Co.; Rebecca Blakley, McCreary Co.; Sara Brady, Marion Co.; Lou Carter, Murray Ind.; Sarah Elam Farrow, Montgomery Co.; LeAnn Fisher, Simpson Co.; Stephanie Hagerty, Boone Co.; Jenny Lynn Varner Hatter, Ed.S., Harrison Co.; Susan Jacobs, Clark Co.; Martha Jones, Ed.D., Woodford Co.; Holly Lawson, Montgomery Co.; Vicki Lete, Jefferson Co.; Jennifer Luttrell, Hopkins Co.; Tiffany Marshall, Ph.D.; Jefferson Co., Karla McCarty; Ed.D., Paintsville Ind.; Jennifer Muncy, Ed.D., Madison Co.; Contessa Orr, Logan Co.; Amber Parker, Ballard Co.; Jessica Pass, Boone Co.; Beth Peterson, Jefferson Co.; Anna Prince, Lawrence Co.; Jaclyn Reid, Marshall Co.; Jennifer Sellers, Fayette Co.; Amy Smith, Hopkins Co.; Karen Ward, LaRue Co.; Carrie Wedding, Owensboro Ind.;  Alison Wright, Fayette Co.; and Whitney York, Murray Ind.
KASA is the largest school administrator group in Kentucky, representing more than 3,100 education leaders from across the commonwealth. Formed in 1969, KASA connects education leaders to policymakers, legislators, and other interest groups, and provides numerous benefits and services to Kentucky’s school administrators.

Email newsletter signup