Final election results released in Boyle County

Published 11:15 am Tuesday, June 30, 2020

Final election results have been tabulated in this year’s primary election. While voters made their way to the polls last week, more than 6,000 absentee mail-in ballots were counted by the Boyle County Clerk’s office as no-excuse absentee voting was allowed in this election due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. 

Boyle County election results were released at around 10 a.m. Tuesday, and counties across Kentucky have until 6 p.m. Tuesday to release official results.

Results from Boyle County are broken down by race below. 

Email newsletter signup


State Senate District 15

In the race for State Senate District 15, incumbent Rick Girdler picked up a large margin in Boyle County, getting 2,138 votes compared to 582 for his challenger, Larry Nichols. The 15th Senate District also consists of Pulaski and Lincoln counties. 

At the time of writing, final vote totals in Pulaski and Lincoln counties were not yet available.

With no Democrat running for this seat, the winner of the primary will represent the three counties in the Kentucky State Senate.


U.S. Senate (Democrat)

In one of the most closely contested races statewide, the Democratic primary for U.S. Senate, Charles Booker totaled 1,913 votes in Boyle County, leading a pack of nine other candidates. The next highest vote-getter was Amy McGrath, who totaled 1,723 votes. Mike Broihier brought in 419 votes. Mary Ann Tobin (65), Jimmy Ausbrooks (36), Bennie Smith (29), Maggie Hilliard (28), Andrew Maynard (28), John Sharpensteen (24) and Eric Rothmuller (14) rounded out the group of Democrat candidates. 

Vote totals are still coming in for this race statewide, which seems to be between McGrath and Booker down the stretch. The winner will face off against Republican incumbent Mitch McConnell in November.


U.S. Senate (Republican)

In the Republican race for the U.S. Senate, incumbent Mitch McConnell picked up 2,302 votes. Wesley Morgan had the next highest vote count with 150, followed by Louis Grider with 126. Naren James picked up 112 votes, while Paul Frangedakis picked up 70 votes.

Wendell Crow (59), Kenneth Lowndes (21), and Nicholas Alsager (17) rounded out the group of Republican candidates. 

McConnell easily won the statewide race, which was called by the Associated Press on election night. 

McConnell will run against either Amy McGrath or Charles Booker in the general election in November. 


U.S. House of Representatives, District 2 (Republican)

In the Republican race for the U.S. House District 2, incumbent Brett Guthrie received 2,489 votes in Boyle County and his challenger, Kathleen Free, picked up 327 votes.


United States President 

Presidential primaries were also on the ballot. In the Democratic Presidential primary, presumed nominee Joe Biden received 2,881 votes. The candidate with the next highest vote total was Bernie Sanders, who received 404 votes. Elizabeth Warren (128), Pete Buttigieg (82), Andrew Yang (57), Tulsi Gabbard (46), Michael Bloomberg (38), Amy Klobuchar (37), John Delaney (29), Michael Bennet (23), Tom Steyer (22), and Deval Patrick (8) made up the rest of the votes.

“Uncommitted” was selected by 508 Democratic voters on their ballots. 

In the Republican Presidential Primary, incumbent President Donald Trump picked up 2,452 votes in Boyle County, while 463 Republican voters selected “uncommitted” on their ballot.