Second Congressional District Republican party announces newly elected officers

Published 8:24 am Thursday, September 30, 2021

The Second Congressional District Republican Party announced the newly elected officers following their recently held, successful district convention.

“It is humbling to be elected by my fellow Republicans in the Second Congressional District,” Second Congressional District Chairman Tom Tye said. “I am proud to be part of this team and to serve with our newly elected officers. Our leadership team comes from all over the district, and we are excited about the future and looking forward to winning even more elections for our GOP candidates in the future.”

District chairs and officers preside over the Republican Party Congressional District committee in their area. They provide leadership and oversight of fundraising, event planning, and other grassroots organizing of the county parties that make up their congressional district.

Email newsletter signup

Below are the newly elected congressional district chairs and officers, who will serve a four-year term as provided for by Republican Party of Kentucky rules:
• Chairman Tom Tye, Danville

• Vice-Chairman Rep. Samara Heavrin, Leitchfield

• Member-at-Large Timothy Gilliam, Bowling Green

• Member-at-Large Aaron Witten, Leitchfield

• Member-at-Large Richard McClard, Glasgow

• Member-at-Large Thomas Watson, Owensboro