Three Boyle players named all-state

Published 1:36 pm Tuesday, March 15, 2022

Three Boyle County football players received first team recognition on the Kentucky Associated Press All-State Football Teams announced Friday.

Wide receiver Cole Lanter, kicker Jackson Smith and defensive lineman Tommy Ziesmer were voted to the first team and were among 11 local players picked to the first or second teams or honorable mention list in voting by AP members across Kentucky.

Lanter caught 78 passes for 1,288 yards and 21 touchdowns, Smith made seven of nine field goal attempts and 72 of 78 extra-point attempts and Ziesmer had 10 sacks and two forced fumbles for Class 4A champion Boyle.

Email newsletter signup

Garrard County offensive lineman Mason Sulla was named to the second team.

Seven players received honorable mention: Clayton Davis, WR, Lincoln County; Jagger Gillis, QB, Boyle County; Andrew Hardwick, OL, Boyle County; Zach Mason, OL, Boyle County; Elijah Pittman, RB, Casey County; Holden Stamper, OL, Lincoln County; Logan Stephens, LB, Casey County.
Belfry running back Isaac Dixon was named the AP’s Mr. Football — he also received the Kentucky Football Coaches Association’s Mr. Football award in December — and Kevin Wallace of St. Xavier was named coach of the year.