Walker poetry contest winners named

Published 4:22 pm Wednesday, October 26, 2022


As part of the Frank X Walker Literary Festival, Danville Independent Schools held a student poetry contest.

The winners of the Frank X Walker Literary Festival Student Poetry Contest are:

Email newsletter signup


• First Place: Jordan Schwartz (Hogsett)

• Runner-up: Beau Schweickhardt (Hogsett)

• Honorable Mention: Ann Margaret Ahnquist (Hogsett)

• Honorable Mention: Ava Berry (Hogsett)

• Honorable Mention: Evelyn McCusker (Hogsett)

• Honorable Mention: Jay’Vion Simpson (Hogsett)


• First Place: Lillian Littleton (Toliver)

• Runner-up: Mathew Lindeman (Toliver)

• Honorable Mention: Abagale Huffman (Toliver)

• Honorable Mention: Christina Spencer (Toliver)

• Honorable Mention: Lucy Wilham (Toliver)

• Honorable Mention: Austin Sapp (Toliver)


• First Place: Aubree Caldwell (John W. Bate)

• Runner-up: Jossalyn Lang (John W. Bate)

• Honorable Mention: Josiah Policarpio (John W. Bate)

• Honorable Mention: Marleigh Lewis (John W. Bate)

• Honorable Mention: Annie Capers Walter (John W. Bate)

• Honorable Mention: William Phillis (John W. Bate)


• First Place: Ramona Pierce (Danville)

• Runner-up: Rafael Angel (Danville)

• Honorable Mention: Yhocelyn Martinez (Danville)

• Honorable Mention: Jaxsin Clontz (Danville)

• Honorable Mention: Azrail Knoll (Danville)

• Honorable Mention: Jerome Johnson (Danville)

Additional Students whose work will be included in the PoetryAnthology: Amaya Newcomb, Aniyah Gause, Draylan Francisco, Elliot Cruver, Braxton Ford, Camden Miracle, Emma Wells, Emery Goetsch, Max Watson, Clara Winderl, Harper Ranson, Alexa Moss, Jeleena Hawkins, Abigail Sears, Danielle Johnson and Bria Ferris. Frank X Walker will hold a literary reading with the winners at 7 p.m. Thursday at Gravely Hall Performing Arts Center at Danville High School. The public is invited to attend.

The Frank X Walker Literary Festival Student Poetry Contest was sponsored by: Stuart Powell Ford Lincoln Mazda;  McClure, McClure, and Bailey; Fleur; Casa Grande Mexican Restaurant; Kentucky Trust Co.; the Werner-Goodwin Family; Reclaimed Reserved; First Christian Church, the Pennington Family, Johnson & Pohlman and anonymous donors.