Scholarship recipients both thriving at next level, KACo Presidential Scholarship continues helping students in 22nd year

Published 7:11 am Saturday, November 5, 2022


Last spring, KACo President Phil Sammons presented two scholarships to Boyle County residents. Those $8,000 KACo Presidential Scholarships were awarded to Boyle County High School’s Abigayle Godbey and Danville High School’s Anajah Perrin.

Godbey is a freshman at Eastern Kentucky University, and Perrin is a freshman at the University of Kentucky. Both students are studying elementary education with an emphasis in special education.

Email newsletter signup

Godbey and Perrin were chosen by a committee composed of KACo board members, who made selections based on excellence in academics, extracurricular activities, community service, application and an essay question regarding public service aspirations.

“Being a full-time student while also having a job has kept me really busy,” Perrin said. “Thank you, KACo and Mr. Sammons, for helping me continue my education with awarding me the presidential scholarship.”

Also during his year as KACo president, Sammons guided KACo’s response to both the tornadoes in western Kentucky and Boyle County and the floods in eastern Kentucky, and he chaired the Unemployment Insurance board.

To learn more about the KACo Presidential Scholarship and see past recipients, go to Previous winners are: 2021 – Julia Kilgore, Berea Community High School and Eddie Woolery, Model Laboratory School; 2020 – Bryce Chenot, Boone County High School; 2019 – Parker Parrent, Caldwell County High School; 2018 – Nicholas Gudgel, Ballard High School; 2017 – Cara Daniels, Henderson County High School; 2016 – Nicolas Wimms, Franklin-Simpson High School; 2015 – Olivia Matlin, Shelby County High School; 2014 – Hannah Turner, Warren East High School; 2013 – Ryan Hornback, LaRue County High School; 2012 – Taylor Domidion, Garrard County High School; 2011 – Sarah Elizabeth Mullins, Belfry High School; 2010 – Michael Brown, George Rogers Clark High School; 2009 – Jordan Thomas, Hopkinsville High School; 2008 – Joey Bentley, Spencer County High School; 2007 – Leigh Ann Sweasy, Shelby County High School; 2006 – Hayley Barbato, Boyle County High School and Julia Peterson, Danville High School; 2005 – Whitney Englert and Rebecca Sweeney, Mason County High School; 2004 – Alexandrea Higdon and Ashley Whitledge, Webster County High School; 2003 – Tritney Beth Griffin, Henderson County High School; 2002 – Lori Ann Nethery, Henry County High School; 2001 – Andrea Heflin, McLean County High School.