Nine local players on coaches’ all-region teams

Published 3:45 pm Thursday, February 22, 2024

Nine local players, five boys and four girls, were named to the 12th Region Boys and Girls Basketball Coaches Associations’ 2023-24 all-region teams.

Anna Drakeford of Mercer County was named the 12th Region Player of the Year by the girls coaches. Drakeford entered the Lady Titans’ regular-season finale Thursday ranked fourth in the state in scoring with 26.2 points per game and averaging 6.2 rebounds.

The girls coaches name 15 players, including the player of the year, to first, second and third teams. The boys coaches name 12 players to a single all-region team with no player or coach of the year.

Email newsletter signup


12th Region Boys Basketball Coaches Association All-Region Team

Lual Ayiei, Danville Christian; Will Blankenship, Pulaski County; Walker Craig, Rockcastle County; Antajuan Dumphord, Wayne County; Emmanuel Dut, Danville Christian; Trevor Ellis, Mercer County; Ben Godby, Somerset; Conner Hudson, Southwestern; Blade Nuckols, Lincoln County; Kendall Phillips, Wayne County; Montavin Quisenberry, Boyle County; Indred Whitaker, Somerset


12th Region Boys Basketball Coaches Association All-Region Team

Player of the Year

Anna Drakeford, Mercer County.

First Team

Claire Marshall, West Jessamine; Sydney Martin, Pulaski County; Grace Mbugua, Danville Christian; Talynne Shearer, Rockcastle County.

Second Team

Payton Acey, Southwestern; Madeline Butcher, Pulaski County; Kinsley Molden, Southwestern; Alayah Quisenberry, Danville; Macy Spivey, Rockcastle County.

Third Team

Payton Bugg, Boyle County; Jordan Collon, Wayne County; Kennedy Creekmore, McCreary Central; Adeline Heatherly, Wayne County; Katie Mastin, West Jessamine.

Coach of the Year

Matt Hilkens, West Jessamine.