Senator Bledsoe appointed to Artificial Intelligence task force

Published 3:45 pm Tuesday, June 18, 2024

Senate President Robert Stivers, R-Manchester, has named Sen. Amanda Mays Bledsoe, R-Lexington who also represents Boyle County, to the newly established Artificial Intelligence Task Force. This task force will meet monthly during the 2024 Interim to study and address the complexities and rapid advancements in artificial intelligence (AI) technologies.

The AI Task Force has several critical objectives:

  • Identify strategies other states use to study and monitor AI systems developed, employed, and procured by their agencies.
  • Study the implementation of AI systems within other states’ government operations.
  • Evaluate existing AI systems currently used by Kentucky agencies.
  • Gather information on AI systems used by other groups, including Kentucky businesses and the federal government.
  • Provide recommendations on how AI systems can benefit Kentucky government agencies’ operations and procurement policies and outline legislative initiatives to ensure consumer protection in both the private and public sectors.

“I am both honored and excited that President Stivers named me as the co-chair of this important task force,” Bledsoe said. “AI holds immense potential to enhance government services, yet there are understandable concerns regarding this rapidly evolving technology. I’m confident this task force will face this new technology head-on and ensure Kentucky remains proactive in embracing all this new technology offers, and shaping state policies that protect the public while harnessing its benefits.”

Email newsletter signup

Nationwide Efforts to Regulate AI

As AI continues to evolve, states nationwide are taking steps to understand and regulate its use. The rapid growth of AI technology brings both opportunities and challenges, necessitating a balanced approach to regulation. While AI holds the potential to revolutionize government operations and improve responsiveness to citizens’ needs, it also requires careful oversight to mitigate risks and ensure ethical usage.

Balancing Innovation with Regulation

Regulating AI is complex, as the technology’s impact depends on its utilization. Effective regulation must evolve with AI’s development, focusing on its outcomes. This requires continuous vigilance and a framework that can adapt to new challenges and opportunities.

Implications for Kentucky

The AI Task Force will explore how AI can streamline government operations, improve service delivery, and enhance consumer protection. This includes examining successful AI applications in other states and industries and recommending best practices for Kentucky. By December 1, 2024, the task force will submit its findings and recommendations to the Legislative Research Commission for further consideration.

The creation of the AI Task Force and the appointment of Sen. Mays Bledsoe highlights the Kentucky General Assembly’s commitment to staying at the forefront of technological advancements while ensuring AI is used ethically and effectively. The task force’s work will be crucial in shaping the future of AI regulation and implementation in the state, benefiting all Kentuckians through improved government services and protections.

Senator Amanda Mays Bledsoe, R-Lexington, represents the 12th Senate District, including Boyle, Mercer and Woodford Counties and part of Fayette County. She serves as a Senate member of the Appropriations and Revenue Interim Joint Committee; the Licensing, Occupations and Administrative Regulations Interim Joint Committee; the Local Government Interim Joint Committee; and the State Government Interim Joint Committee. In addition to Interim Joint Committees, Senator Bledsoe serves as an ex-officio member of the Budget Review Sub-committees on Economic Development, Tourism and Environmental Protection; Education, General Government, Finance, Personnel and Public Retirement; Justice and Judiciary; and Health and Family Services. Bledsoe is also a member of the 2024-2026 Budget Preparation and Submission Committee. She is the co-chair of the Commission on Race and Access to Opportunity; co-chair of the Tobacco Settlement Agreement Fund Oversight Committee; and the co-chair of the Artificial Intelligence Task Force.